In Persona 2: Eternal Punishment, personae and demons alike fall under the rulership of particular Arcanum (Latin for “Secret”). Tarot Decks are comprised of two major sets of cards: the Major Arcana (Big Secrets) and the Minor Arcana (Little Secrets).

In-game, cards can be acquired by negotiating (contacting) with a demon. The Demon Artist in the Velvet Room is also capable of painting Tarot Cards using Free Tarot cards as materials. There are many cards that can be painted this way that can’t be obtained by negotiating with demons; they are the Priestess, Emperor, Empress, Hierophant, Justice and Sun cards.

Free Tarot cards are somewhat equivalent to the Blank Card in some Tarot Decks, indicative of the unknowable. In Persona, they represent a facet of a person’s personality (which takes shape in the form of a Persona) that someone may not be aware of.

Other Personae are only available when you acquire certain “Material Cards” that act as a trigger. Examples include the King in Yellow (for summoning Hastur) and Rainbow Gleam (for summoning Iris). These are required in addition to a number of some Tarot cards.

Personae and demons are categorized by one of the 22 Major Arcana:

  1. Magician
  2. Priestess
  3. Empress
  4. Emperor
  5. Hierophant
  6. Lovers
  7. Chariot
  8. Strength
  9. Hermit
  10. Fortune (Wheel of Fortune)
  11. Justice
  12. Hanged Man
  13. Death
  14. Temperance
  15. Devil
  16. Tower
  17. Star
  18. Moon
  19. Sun
  20. Judgment
  21. World

The 22nd Arcana is often considered the “0” (Zero) card, “The Fool.”

This list is incomplete, and was last updated on [last-modified].

Magician Personae

Tengu, Level 16 (requires 64 Magician cards)

Priestess Personae

Tensen Nyan Nyan, Level 27 (requires 81 Priestess cards)

Empress Personae

Arianrhod, Level 15 (requires 45 Empress cards)

Emperor Personae

  • Marduk, Level 28 (requires 84 Emperor cards)
  • Airgetlam, Level 9 (requires 27 Emperor cards)

Hierophant Personae

  • Genjo, Level 14 (requires 42 Hierophant cards)

Lovers Personae

  • Jack Frost, Level 18 (requires 72 Lovers cards)
  • Robin Goodfellow, Level 11 (requires 44 Lovers cards)
  • Pixie, Level 2 (requires 8 Lovers cards)

Chariot Personae

Minotaur, Level 15 (requires 60 Chariot cards)

Strength Personae

  • Otohime, Level 21 (requires 84 Strength cards)
  • Ryume, Level 12 (requires 48 Strength cards)

Hermit Personae

Nekomata, Level 14 (requires 56 Hermit cards)

Fortune Personae

Cerberus, Level 51 (requires 204 Fortune cards)

Justice Personae

  • Mars, Level 25 (requires 75 Justice cards)
  • Helios, Level 1 (starting Persona for Katsuya)

Hanged Man Personae

  • Shax, Level 17 (requires 68 Hanged Man cards)
  • Odysseus, Level 6 (starting persona for Baofu)

Death Personae

Hel, Level 22 (requires 88 Death cards)

Temperance Personae

  • Fearal, Level 19 (requires 76 Temperance cards)
  • Harpie, Level 5 (requires 20 Temperance cards)

Devil Personae

  • Surt, Level 39 (requires 156 Devil cards)
  • Poltergeist, Level 2 (requires 8 Devil cards)

Tower Personae

  • Kanaloa, Level 24 (requires 96 Tower cards)
  • Hastur, Level 62 (requires 248 Tower cards)

Star Personae

  • Gandharva, Level 23 (requires 92 Star cards)
  • Kimnara, Level 12 (requires 48 Star cards)
  • Callisto, Level 1 (starting Persona for Ulala)

Moon Personae

  • Pariker, Level 20 (requires 80 Moon cards)
  • Moon, Level 3 (starting Persona for Maya)

Sun Personae

  • Kinich Kakmo, Level 21 (requires 63 Sun cards)
  • Surya, Level 13 (requires 39 Sun cards)

Judgment Personae

Phaleg, Level 17 (requires 68 Judgment cards)

World Personae

Demeter, Level 31 (requires 124 World cards)